What is Kundalini Yoga

“Kundalini” derive from Sanskrit word “Kunda” which means ring or coil. Kundalini is creative divine energy in feminine form. It resides in sleeping state at base of spinal column known as or mooladhara chakra. She is represented as serpent power coiled in base chakra by the arousing of which divine power is achieved.

Due to “maya” (illusion), the materialistic world looks real. You become slave of your senses and forget divine nature of your existence. You disconnect from your enormous spiritual energy, and this energy remains in dormant state within you. Kundalini yoga explores untapped mystic power concealed in your body.

Kundalini yoga teachers training course imparts deeper knowledge of “shakti”.  Man is subtle manifestation of the same shakti, which is controlling the universe. But, most of us are not aware of this hidden enormous energy waiting to merge with her zenith of consciousness lies at crown chakra after ascending through six chakras.

  • Kundalini yoga stirs the untapped potential in you
  • It is connected with chakras & nadis (subtle energy channels)
  • Piercing of three knots (granthis) ensure climbing of kundalini
  • It culminates when “shakti” enters thousand-petals chakra (crown chakra)

Purpose of Kundalini Yoga

The aim of kundalini yoga is to ensure the unhindered flow of subtle energy in all channels (chakras & nadis) which carry kundalini upwards. The nadis are expressway where prana moves. The yogic breathing control the flow of prana by  removing congestion in the pranic passage (nadis).

Heart is the abode of your prana. If you can control it, you can control the mind. Breath is also manifestation of prana, and your life begins as you open up your eyes and takes first breath. Your subtle body contains five pranas.

Role of Chakras in Kundalini Yoga

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which literally means ‘wheel’ or ‘circle’. These are major psychic centers in the subtle body which are connected to nadis (psychic channels). There are seven chakras and 72,000 nadis in your astral body.

These are wheels of pranic energy which control the circulation of prana in the entire body. The hatha yoga teachers training course focuses on the purification & activation of all chakras.

Chakras represent the powers of consciousness that lie within the range and level of every human being.


Mooladhara Chakra

This is the base chakra where human consciousness begins. This chakra locates at the base of spinal column below genitals. This region controls the basic instincts and appetites like hunger, thirst & life preservation

It represents dark red lotus with four petals.

Svadhishthana Chakra

This is second chakra where human desires germinate. This is vermillion in color with six petals. It is located in the spinal center of region above the genital organ. This center represents leisure, well-being, sexuality and abundance in life.


Manipura Chakra

It is located behind the navel in the spine. It is sparkling yellow in color with ten petals. The human traits like strength, power and agility lie at this energy center.


Anahata Chakra

It is located behind the heart in the spine. It is blue in color with twelve petals. It is associated with forming the loving bonds with others.  Humans emotions and feelings such as love, joy, unity, kinship and peace emanate from this chakra.


Vishuddhi Chakra

It is located behind the throat pit in the spine. It is violet in color with sixteen petals. It is centre of purification and ensures integrity, will-power & creativity.


Ajna Chakra

It is located between the two eyebrows space, and is also known as the third eye of Lord Shiva.  It is silver in color with two petals. Intellectual power, wisdom, knowledge, intuition emanates from this chakra.


Sahasrara Chakra

It is situated at the crown of the head. The word “Sahasrara” denotes thousand-petal of the lotus which is radiant in hue. It is considered the abode of Lord Shiva, the symbol of supreme consciousness.

When kundalini (Shakti)  is united with Lord Shiva at the crown chakra, the yogi attains super-consciousness state, highest knowledge and supreme bliss. In short, the activation of crown chakra connects us with the divine source.